Alcohol Policy Information System Now Updated
NIAAA’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) features the latest information on State alcohol policy statutes and regulations. The most recent annual update to the APIS system features changes in State alcohol policy statutes and regulations that occurred through January 1, 2011. This year’s changes included 21 substantive revisions, many of which directly address the prevention of underage drinking and its consequences or alcohol-related death and injury in the general population. The following are highlights of this year’s update:
- South Dakota added parent, guardian, and spousal exceptions to its possession and consumption of alcohol laws.
- Nebraska enhanced its false identification law by adding a scanner provision and enacting a use/lose law that provides discretionary authority to impose license sanctions on youth convicted of alcohol-related offenses.
- Wyoming enacted a new law pertaining to internal possession of alcohol and consumption of alcohol. This law contains exceptions for parental, guardian, and spousal consent. Wyoming also established a new spousal consent exception to its possession of alcohol law while eliminating the exception for any private location in that same law.
Alcohol and Pregnancy
- Utah adopted a mandatory warning signs law for both on-sale and off-sale retailers.
- Florida eliminated its priority treatment requirement, which increased access to substance abuse treatment for pregnant women.
- Minnesota eliminated its reporting requirement for health care and social workers.
Alcohol and Motor Vehicles
- Mississippi reduced its blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for operators of recreational watercraft from 0.10 to 0.08 percent.
Retail Sales of Alcohol
- Michigan adopted a keg registration law, whereas New York repealed its law.
- Indiana suspended the mandatory training requirement in its beverage service training and related practices law; Tennessee extended its mandatory training requirement to managers.
Health Care Services and Financing
- Wisconsin adopted health care parity requirements for a host of policy elements, including deductibles, co-insurance, co-payments, service limits, and financial limits. The State also adopted a cost exemption.
New Alcohol Tax Policies
New tax policy topics, posted on January 28, 2012, provide two sets of tax rates: Specific Excise Taxes (taxes levied on the quantity of a beverage), and Ad Valorem Excise Taxes (taxes levied on the price of a beverage). To facilitate cross-State comparisons, data are provided for index beverages in each State at 5 percent alcohol by volume (ABV) beer, 12 percent ABV wine, and 40 percent ABV distilled spirits.
The new tax policies replace five previous APIS alcohol tax policies (for beer, wine, distilled spirits, sparkling wine, and flavored alcoholic beverages), which had not been updated since January 1, 2007.
For more information, visit the APIS Web site at: http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov.